On Track for Success
Twin River Casino
Twin River Casino is a gaming, dining, and entertainment destination that never closes. Featuring almost 500,000 SF of gaming space, it offers over 4,500 slot machines, live gaming tables, a simulcasting event center, and a selection of dining options. Prior to being a casino, a long series of transformations have characterized this former track facility originally opened for horse racing in 1947 and known as Lincoln Downs. It changed in 1977 to dog racing and was known as Lincoln Greyhound Park. In the early 1990’s, other forms of gambling were incorporated. The biggest change came in 2007 with the opening of this massive addition and complete renovation of the existing facility.
A feasibility study was first conducted to evaluate all of the various systems elements for the proposed development. Based on these recommendations, new construction included a large addition for new gaming tables, a multi-purpose entertainment venue, an infill floor in the bleachers, a porte-cochere and entry vestibule, a two-story addition to house security, and warehouse, support, food service, and mechanical functions. On the site, a new parking area was designed for 1,000 cars, and a new parking garage was designed for 2,000 cars. The popular venue now boasts Las Vegas-style betting games like blackjack, roulette, and craps, world-class entertainment, and multiple restaurants.